Volume 49 Masthead

The official masthead for TILJ Vol. 49 has been finalized and available for download here.

Volume 48, Issue 3 Now Available

We are pleased to announce that TILJ Vol. 48, Issue 3 is now available on our Current Issue page.

TILJ Symposium 2013: Recap

A tremendous thank you to Professor Jay Westbrook and the panelists of the 2013 Texas International Law Journal Symposium, The Nation State and its Banks: Sovereign Debt and International Regulation. The Symposium was a great success and was met with enthusiasm by students, academics, and practitioners alike.

Thank you to Professors Douglas Arner and Eric Pan who spoke on SIFIs and derivatives. Professor Arner’s comparative analysis to Chinese shadow banks was thoroughly fascinating and Professor Pan’s experience working at the Securities and Exchange Commission offered valuable insight. A very special thanks to Professor Henry Hu for moderating this panel and for his lunchtime speech on Banks and Systemic Risk.

Thank you to Professors Anna Gelpern and Christoph Paulus for their speeches on Sovereign Debt. We would particularly like to thank Professor Gelpern for her animated, informative, and exciting presentation. Professor Paulus’s contribution was equally exciting, thoughtful, and interesting, as were his moderation of other panels and his thought-provoking questions. A very special thanks to Professor Jens Dammann for moderating this panel.

Thank you to Professor John Pottow for his excellent speech on Enforcing Sovereign Debt. His contribution highlighted the difficulties and risks involved in such a complicated affair.

Thank you to Professors Charles Mooney and Stephen Lubben who spoke on Derivatives and Sovereign Debt. Professors Lubben and Mooney were successful at taking an extremely complicated topic and presenting it in such a manner that it was both interesting and understandable to the audience of UT Law students. Thanks also to Professor Francis Gavin for moderating.

Thank you to Professor Christian Hofmann and Mr. Sean Hagan who, along with Professor Westbrook, started off Friday morning with an electric series of talks regarding SIFIs and the State. Their theories on the “Too Big to Fail” problem was clearly at the cutting edge of legal scholarship. Professor Hofmann’s work around the world, in multiple financial systems, and Mr. Hagan’s work at the IMF General Counsel were of particular insight. Thank you to Professor Yanis Varoufakis for moderating this panel and for his excellent lunchtime speech on European Banking.

Thank you to Professors Caroline Bradley and Adam Feibelman for their speeches on International Bank Regulation. This panel was notable for its animated question-and-answer session, which moderator Professor James Galbraith handled deftly. Professors Bradley and Feibelman both gave bold and assertive answers to some of the toughest questions facing international bank regulation today.

Lastly, but certainly not least, thank you to Professor William Stutts for organizing and helping to moderate our practitioner panel consisting of Mr. Richard Nun, Mr. Michael Krimminger, and Mr. John Podvin. This panel truly capped off an exciting Symposium by giving an “on the ground, in the trenches” report on the current state of international banking and regulation. Indeed, the Symposium came full circle as these professionals answered to and applied the recommendations of the academics.

The Texas International Law Journal is honored to host Professor Jay Westbrook’s Symposium and we are equally pleased to be publishing the articles that this Symposium will produce in Issue 2 of TILJ Volume 49, Spring 2014.

And of course, the biggest thank you of all to Symposium Editor Jaaron Sanderson, who truly spearheaded this whole affair. He has the eternal gratitude of the Journal.

Special Thanks to Our Donors

Gold Sponsors Silver Sponsors Donors
Simpson Thacher & Bartlett LLP Haynes & Boone University Co-op
Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP Susan L. Karamanian Gary C. Clark
Allen & Overy LLP   Clinton F. Cross
    Adrian L. de Graffenreid
    Nicole Edele
    Kenneth Fuchs
    Colonel (Ret.) David E. Graham
    Leslie A. Liu
    James K. Longhofer
    George Mitchell
    Connie Odé
    Chuy Ramirez